Skip to content

Review: Good as Gone

December 13, 2016

good-as-gone

Thirteen old Julie is kidnapped at knife point from her bedroom, the only witness her younger sister Jane.  Terrified, Jane stays hidden for hours before alerting her parents.  The family is broken and tries to work out a new normal but it’s difficult.

Eight years later, a young woman claiming to be Julie knocks on their door.  The family is overjoyed at first but things change when a private investigator contacts Julie’s mother and she starts to question things.  Is this young woman really Julie?  Is her story true?

GOOD AS GONE by Amy Gentry is told from multiple points of view so the reader is kept on edge the whole time, never knowing who’s telling the truth.  It started out with a bang for me –  I was horrified for Julie and her family and wondered how they’d cope.  Like them, I was thrilled when Julie returned but, then, things got a little convoluted for me and I ended up liking the book but not loving it.  Still, I’d be more than happy to try whatever Gentry writes next.

The audio version of GOOD AS GONE is narrated by Karen Peakes.  She does a fine job but I do wonder if I would have enjoyed the book more in print because of the multiple points of view – sometimes it was hard to tell who the narrator was.

I am an Indiebound Affiliate.

 

Advertisements
15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2016 6:48 am

    This book would probably give me nightmares!

  2. December 13, 2016 7:50 am

    I generally like books told from multiple viewpoints, but prefer it when audio versions use multiple narrators.

  3. December 13, 2016 8:42 am

    Can’t imagine what it would be like if my 13-year old got kidnapped. I agree that multi point of views are better when read on print or if multiple narrators are used.

  4. December 13, 2016 9:28 am

    I think I’d enjoy the print version more just because its told by multiple points of view. Sounds good, though.

  5. December 13, 2016 9:32 am

    Sometimes it seems obvious that an audiobook is the best way to read a particular story. But I can see where the opposite might also be true. This one seems like a vote for print.

  6. December 13, 2016 9:44 am

    Every parents nightmare. I think I’d prefer this in print also.

  7. December 13, 2016 10:40 am

    Now I am adding it to my list! Thanks for sharing, as I want to know what happened to this family.

  8. December 13, 2016 11:16 am

    These sounds intense!

  9. The Cue Card permalink
    December 13, 2016 5:09 pm

    I’ve heard of stories like this : where you don’t know if it’s the missing person or not?! It might make me a nervous wreck.

  10. Literary Feline permalink
    December 13, 2016 6:33 pm

    What an interesting twist. I’m sorry you didn’t end up loving it despite the great start. At least you liked it in the end!

  11. Patty permalink
    December 13, 2016 6:58 pm

    It sounds interesting!

  12. December 14, 2016 1:29 am

    This sounds suspenseful. Excellent, concise review, Kathy!

  13. December 14, 2016 9:07 am

    Hm. Goodreads says it’s for fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train and those were dark. Tempting but will probably skip it.

  14. bookingmama permalink
    December 16, 2016 6:52 am

    Since this is a thriller, I immediately had to check to see if I had it — I do!

  15. December 19, 2016 2:32 pm

    This sounds like something that could be horrifying, but also it seems like the story could be very confusing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: